Reflective Blog

When I chose this module, I had some serious reservations about it. I wasn’t sure if I was suited to it but after the first session of talks it become clear that this class suits everyone. If a student when given half a chance doesn’t want to pick exactly what they’re studying then they shouldn’t be in University! I have enjoyed this so much, finding something that interested me and that being the basis of my module!

However, what can I say I’ve learned from all of this? Well, basically  that our current education system needs scraping! I’ve become very concerned about the education system and how it’s not really teaching as it’s focus is on testing as opposed to building a supply of information for the students disposal. The system needs a shake up. Education should be about learning and inspiring the next generation. It should be using science to mould how education should be conducted. Just because we’ve done something for a hundred years doesn’t mean it’s right. Cocaine was once in Coca-Cola, it was then removed when the properties and effects of cocaine are. Why are the same measures not being taken in schools? How much longer can this happen before someone who has the power to change this sees that it’s not a necessity, it’s vital that it happens. So yes, basically, I am very cynical about the future of education!

I would also like to thank Jess, I would say like many before me that he’s done no work for another semester but he did have rather a lot of marking to do every week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment